Quick summary

DetailValue
Grace periodNot stated separately. See the suspension timeline below.
Late feeNot specified
Service suspension1 day after a payment-failure notice
Account closureNot stated. A 30-day account pause follows suspension, with no published cutoff after that.
Reconnection feeNot specified
Credit reportingMentions collection agencies, not credit bureaus[1]
Source checkedSeptember 2026

How YouTube TV billing works

YouTube TV is Google's live TV streaming service, billed as a recurring monthly subscription through Google Payments.

  • Google charges your payment method on file "on the first day of each billing period"
  • No contracts; you can cancel any time before the end of your current billing period, and the cancellation takes effect at the end of that period
  • The monthly fee covers your selected base package; "additional content or additional packages may be available for an additional cost"

Source: YouTube Paid Service Terms of Service (Additional Terms for YouTube TV)[1]


What happens when payment fails

  1. Payment fails. "If Google is unable to charge you for a Paid Service, you may not be able to access the applicable Paid Service until you update your payment method(s). Where possible, we will provide you with notice when this happens."
  2. 1-day grace window. After that notice, "You'll have 1 day to fix any payment issues before losing access to your YouTube TV benefits, followed by a 30-day pause on your account." During the pause, Google "will regularly re-attempt to charge you again to process your monthly payment," and membership restores automatically once the payment method works.[2]
  3. After the 30-day pause. Google's support page does not state what happens if the account is still unpaid once the pause ends, so this page does not assert a termination date.
  4. YouTube TV's Paid Service Terms do not state a late-fee amount. They say nothing about one either way.

Restoring service

To restore YouTube TV after suspension:

  • Update your payment method through Google Payments or YouTube TV settings
  • The Terms of Service do not describe a separate reconnection fee or a guaranteed restoration timeline

Your DVR library has a retention window. Restoring service within that window preserves your recordings, though the Terms of Service consulted for this page do not specify the exact retention period. The FAQ below gives Google's published retention guidance.


Credit reporting

What YouTube TV says: YouTube's Paid Service Terms don't mention credit bureaus. They say: "Google reserves the right to send unpaid debts to a collection agency."[1]

What federal law actually sets

Reporting to the credit bureaus is optional. The CFPB puts it plainly: "Reporting to credit bureaus and other consumer reporting agencies by creditors is voluntary and historically has been. Not all creditors report information about their borrowers."[3]: p. 15 The Fair Credit Reporting Act's rules for the companies that do report cover accuracy, disputes and dates. They don't set a minimum number of days late before an account can be reported.[4]: (a)

The "30 days late" figure you see everywhere comes from the data format, not from a law. Most furnishers send data to the bureaus in Metro 2, which reports "the level of delinquency such as 30-59 days past due, 60-89 days past due, and up to 180 days or more past due."[3]: pp. 3, 16 Experian's list of payment-status codes has no code for anything less than 30 days late: the late codes start at "Account 30 days past due date" and go up in 30-day steps to 180.[5] So a payment 10 or 20 days late has no late code to be reported under, though a late fee can still apply.

A third-party debt collector can't report a debt until it has either spoken to you about it in person or by phone, or mailed or electronically sent you a message about it and waited "a reasonable period of time to receive a notice of undeliverability."[6]: (a)(1)

Charge-off

A charge-off is the lender writing the balance off its books as a loss. It isn't the lender giving up: the federal bank policy that sets charge-off timing says the write-off "does not mean that the asset has absolutely no recovery or salvage value."[7] That policy also sets the timing, for banks and thrifts only: "Closed-end retail loans that become past due 120 cumulative days and open-end retail loans that become past due 180 cumulative days from the contractual due date should be classified loss and charged off." Closed-end means a loan with a fixed schedule, such as an installment loan; open-end means a revolving line, such as a credit card. Credit unions are outside it. Their regulator, the NCUA, "does not plan to adopt the Uniform Policy at this time."[8] It doesn't apply to phone, cable, streaming, insurance or utility companies either, because none of them is a bank. When one of those companies writes off a balance, the timing is its own.

How long it can stay on a report

For an account placed for collection or charged off, the Fair Credit Reporting Act's seven-year limit doesn't start on the day you fell behind. It starts 180 days later: the seven years begin "upon the expiration of the 180-day period beginning on the date of the commencement of the delinquency which immediately preceded the collection activity, charge to profit and loss, or similar action."[9]: (c)(1) That makes it about seven and a half years from the first missed payment. Paying the balance later doesn't restart or shorten that clock. Whoever reports a collection or charge-off must also tell the bureau "the month and year of the commencement of the delinquency", within 90 days of reporting it, and a collector who later reports the same account complies by reporting "the same date of delinquency as that provided by the creditor".[4]: (a)(5) A late payment that never goes to collection or charge-off falls under a separate catch-all, "any other adverse item of information", which also runs seven years but names no start date.[9]: (a)(5)

Direct reporting vs. collections

A company can report an account it still owns, or it can hand or sell the account to a collection agency, which then reports under its own name. The two can show up as separate items on your report for the same bill, and "consumers generally are not required to be notified when debt is sold or assigned to a collection agency."[3]: p. 30 Which of the two you're dealing with decides which rights apply. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act covers people collecting debts owed to someone else, and it excludes a creditor's own staff "while, in the name of the creditor, collecting debts for such creditor." A creditor that collects under a different name is covered, though: the law "includes any creditor who, in the process of collecting his own debts, uses any name other than his own which would indicate that a third person is collecting or attempting to collect such debts."[10]: (6)

If the account reaches collections

A debt collector must send you validation information (what you owe, to whom, and how to dispute it) in its first communication or "within five days of that initial communication".[11]: (a)(1) If you dispute the debt in writing within 30 days, the collector "shall cease collection of the debt, or any disputed portion thereof, until the debt collector obtains verification of the debt" and mails it to you.[12]: (b) Disputing the credit report itself is a separate process. A bureau that gets your dispute must, "free of charge, conduct a reasonable reinvestigation" within 30 days (up to 45 if you send more information during that time),[13]: (a)(1) and the company that reported the item must investigate and then modify, delete or block anything it finds inaccurate, incomplete or unverifiable.[4]: (b)

This section describes federal law and industry practice in general terms. It doesn't cover state law, which can add protections, and it isn't legal advice. It describes a company's own policy only where that company is quoted above. See the disclaimer.


Frequently asked questions

Will I lose my YouTube TV DVR library if my account is suspended? DVR recordings are retained for a period after suspension (typically up to 9 months on the YouTube TV service, subject to YouTube's policies). Reactivating service within this window typically preserves recordings.

Can I pause YouTube TV without canceling? Yes. YouTube TV allows you to pause your subscription for up to 6 months through account settings. Pausing avoids the auto-charge while preserving your DVR and settings.

What if I have YouTube TV add-ons like NFL Sunday Ticket? Add-on subscriptions follow the same billing flow, and YouTube TV's terms note that "additional content or additional packages may be available for an additional cost" on top of the base subscription. Some add-ons, like NFL Sunday Ticket, have their own additional terms (for example, a separate payment-default and grace-period process for Sunday Ticket's optional monthly payment plan). Check the specific add-on terms.


Source checked September 2026. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by YouTube or Google. See our disclaimer.

References

  1. ^ YouTube: Paid Service Terms of Service (August 21, 2024) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  2. ^ YouTube TV: Troubleshoot membership billing or access issues, Google (accessed 2026-09-24)
  3. ^ CFPB: Key Dimensions and Processes in the U.S. Credit Reporting System (December 2012) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  4. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681s-2: Responsibilities of furnishers of information to consumer reporting agencies (accessed 2026-09-24)
  5. ^ Experian: Glossary of Account Conditions and Payment Status, Version 7 (accessed 2026-09-24)
  6. ^ 12 CFR 1006.30: Other prohibited practices (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  7. ^ FFIEC: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (Federal Reserve) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  8. ^ 65 FR 36903: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (June 12, 2000) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  9. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681c: Requirements relating to information contained in consumer reports (accessed 2026-09-24)
  10. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692a: Definitions (Fair Debt Collection Practices Act) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  11. ^ 12 CFR 1006.34: Notice for validation of debts (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
  12. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692g: Validation of debts (accessed 2026-09-24)
  13. ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681i: Procedure in case of disputed accuracy (accessed 2026-09-24)