Quick summary
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Grace period | Not published. Spotify retries a failed monthly payment "over the next few days". |
| Late fee | Not stated. Spotify's failed-payment help and terms don't mention a late fee. |
| Service change | Not stated for a failed payment. See below. |
| Account closure | Not published. Spotify's terms downgrade an ended Paid Subscription to the free tier. |
| Reconnection fee | Not stated. Update your payment details to pay. |
| Credit reporting | Its terms don't say[1] [2] |
| Source checked | September 2026 |
How Spotify billing works
Spotify is a prepaid monthly music and podcast streaming subscription, billed in advance for Premium tiers (Individual, Duo, Family, Student).
- Monthly auto-charge to your registered payment method
- No contracts; cancel any time through account settings
- Spotify also offers a free, ad-supported tier that does not require payment
Source: Spotify Terms and Conditions of Use[1]
What happens when payment fails
- Payment fails. "If a monthly payment fails, you won't immediately lose your Premium. We'll try to take the payment again over the next few days."[2] Spotify doesn't say how many days that is, so this page records the grace period and the suspension point as not published.
- If the retries fail. Spotify doesn't say in words what happens next. Its Terms and Conditions of Use cover two other ways a Paid Subscription ends. If you cancel, "you will be downgraded to the free version of the Spotify Service". If Spotify ends it, "we will downgrade your account to the free version of the Spotify Service."[1] In both cases the account isn't closed.
- Late fee. Neither the failed-payment help nor the terms mention one. They don't say there isn't one either, so this page records the late fee as not stated rather than $0.
What changes on the free tier
Spotify's help pages describe what the free version lacks compared with Premium:
- Ads. Spotify lists "Ad-free music listening" as a Premium benefit: "Enjoy your favorite tracks without any audio ads."[3] Its plans page calls the free tier "our free, ad-supported service".[4]
- Playing in order. "Play songs in any order" with "unlimited skips" is a Premium benefit.[3] For free listeners, "Smart Shuffle is always active on mobile."[5]
- Audio quality. Spotify's audio-quality table tops out at "High: Equivalent to approximately 160kbit/s" on the free version, against "Very high" (about 320kbit/s) and lossless on Premium. In the web player it's AAC 128kbit/s free and 256kbit/s on Premium.[6]
- Downloads. "On Premium, you can download albums, playlists, and podcasts. On the free version, you can only download podcasts."[7]
- Your library stays. "You keep your playlists and saved music when your account is free. You can also still log in and play with ads."[8]
That help article is about cancelling. Spotify doesn't say in so many words that a failed payment ends the same way, but its terms downgrade an ended Paid Subscription to the free version either way (see above).
Restoring Premium
Spotify's failed-payment help says to check that your card has funds, isn't expired, and is enabled for recurring purchases, then to "Update or change your payment details". You can "check or update your payment info on your account page, under Your plan."[2] If you pay through a partner, such as your phone or internet provider, "they manage your payments", so you need to contact them. Spotify doesn't publish a reconnection fee.
Spotify says "You keep your playlists and saved music when your account is free."[8]
Credit reporting
What Spotify says: Spotify's Terms of Use don't mention credit bureaus or collection agencies. Its support page says: "If a monthly payment fails, you won't immediately lose your Premium. We'll try to take the payment again over the next few days."[1] [2]
What federal law actually sets
Reporting to the credit bureaus is optional. The CFPB puts it plainly: "Reporting to credit bureaus and other consumer reporting agencies by creditors is voluntary and historically has been. Not all creditors report information about their borrowers."[9]: p. 15 The Fair Credit Reporting Act's rules for the companies that do report cover accuracy, disputes and dates. They don't set a minimum number of days late before an account can be reported.[10]: (a)
The "30 days late" figure you see everywhere comes from the data format, not from a law. Most furnishers send data to the bureaus in Metro 2, which reports "the level of delinquency such as 30-59 days past due, 60-89 days past due, and up to 180 days or more past due."[9]: pp. 3, 16 Experian's list of payment-status codes has no code for anything less than 30 days late: the late codes start at "Account 30 days past due date" and go up in 30-day steps to 180.[11] So a payment 10 or 20 days late has no late code to be reported under, though a late fee can still apply.
A third-party debt collector can't report a debt until it has either spoken to you about it in person or by phone, or mailed or electronically sent you a message about it and waited "a reasonable period of time to receive a notice of undeliverability."[12]: (a)(1)
Charge-off
A charge-off is the lender writing the balance off its books as a loss. It isn't the lender giving up: the federal bank policy that sets charge-off timing says the write-off "does not mean that the asset has absolutely no recovery or salvage value."[13] That policy also sets the timing, for banks and thrifts only: "Closed-end retail loans that become past due 120 cumulative days and open-end retail loans that become past due 180 cumulative days from the contractual due date should be classified loss and charged off." Closed-end means a loan with a fixed schedule, such as an installment loan; open-end means a revolving line, such as a credit card. Credit unions are outside it. Their regulator, the NCUA, "does not plan to adopt the Uniform Policy at this time."[14] It doesn't apply to phone, cable, streaming, insurance or utility companies either, because none of them is a bank. When one of those companies writes off a balance, the timing is its own.
How long it can stay on a report
For an account placed for collection or charged off, the Fair Credit Reporting Act's seven-year limit doesn't start on the day you fell behind. It starts 180 days later: the seven years begin "upon the expiration of the 180-day period beginning on the date of the commencement of the delinquency which immediately preceded the collection activity, charge to profit and loss, or similar action."[15]: (c)(1) That makes it about seven and a half years from the first missed payment. Paying the balance later doesn't restart or shorten that clock. Whoever reports a collection or charge-off must also tell the bureau "the month and year of the commencement of the delinquency", within 90 days of reporting it, and a collector who later reports the same account complies by reporting "the same date of delinquency as that provided by the creditor".[10]: (a)(5) A late payment that never goes to collection or charge-off falls under a separate catch-all, "any other adverse item of information", which also runs seven years but names no start date.[15]: (a)(5)
Direct reporting vs. collections
A company can report an account it still owns, or it can hand or sell the account to a collection agency, which then reports under its own name. The two can show up as separate items on your report for the same bill, and "consumers generally are not required to be notified when debt is sold or assigned to a collection agency."[9]: p. 30 Which of the two you're dealing with decides which rights apply. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act covers people collecting debts owed to someone else, and it excludes a creditor's own staff "while, in the name of the creditor, collecting debts for such creditor." A creditor that collects under a different name is covered, though: the law "includes any creditor who, in the process of collecting his own debts, uses any name other than his own which would indicate that a third person is collecting or attempting to collect such debts."[16]: (6)
If the account reaches collections
A debt collector must send you validation information (what you owe, to whom, and how to dispute it) in its first communication or "within five days of that initial communication".[17]: (a)(1) If you dispute the debt in writing within 30 days, the collector "shall cease collection of the debt, or any disputed portion thereof, until the debt collector obtains verification of the debt" and mails it to you.[18]: (b) Disputing the credit report itself is a separate process. A bureau that gets your dispute must, "free of charge, conduct a reasonable reinvestigation" within 30 days (up to 45 if you send more information during that time),[19]: (a)(1) and the company that reported the item must investigate and then modify, delete or block anything it finds inaccurate, incomplete or unverifiable.[10]: (b)
This section describes federal law and industry practice in general terms. It doesn't cover state law, which can add protections, and it isn't legal advice. It describes a company's own policy only where that company is quoted above. See the disclaimer.
Frequently asked questions
What happens if I miss a Spotify payment? You keep Premium for now. Spotify says: "If a monthly payment fails, you won't immediately lose your Premium. We'll try to take the payment again over the next few days."[2] Spotify doesn't say how many days, or what happens if every retry fails. To pay, update your payment details on your account page under "Your plan". If you pay through a partner such as your phone or internet provider, contact them instead.
Does Spotify charge a late fee? Spotify doesn't mention one. Its failed-payment help says only that it will try the payment again "over the next few days", and its terms list no late fee. We record the late fee as not stated rather than $0, because a source that says nothing isn't the same as one that says "none".
Will I lose my Spotify playlists if my Premium subscription lapses? Spotify says no: "You keep your playlists and saved music when your account is free."[8] The free version plays with ads, and on mobile Smart Shuffle is always on (see above).
Can I downgrade Spotify intentionally instead of letting payment fail? Yes. Spotify's help says to cancel on your account page under "Manage your plan". "Your Premium stays until your next billing date, then your account switches to free."[8] If you pay through a partner such as your phone or internet provider, you cancel through them.
Source checked September 2026. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by Spotify. See our disclaimer.
References
- ^ Spotify: Terms of Use (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Spotify: Failed payment help (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Spotify: Your Premium benefits (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Spotify: Premium plans (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Spotify: Shuffle play (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Spotify: Audio quality (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Spotify: Listen offline (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Spotify: How to cancel Premium plans (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ CFPB: Key Dimensions and Processes in the U.S. Credit Reporting System (December 2012) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681s-2: Responsibilities of furnishers of information to consumer reporting agencies (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Experian: Glossary of Account Conditions and Payment Status, Version 7 (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 12 CFR 1006.30: Other prohibited practices (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ FFIEC: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (Federal Reserve) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 65 FR 36903: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (June 12, 2000) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681c: Requirements relating to information contained in consumer reports (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692a: Definitions (Fair Debt Collection Practices Act) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 12 CFR 1006.34: Notice for validation of debts (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692g: Validation of debts (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681i: Procedure in case of disputed accuracy (accessed 2026-09-24)