Quick summary
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Grace period | Not specified by Max |
| Late fee | Not specified |
| Service suspension | If payment fails, until you update your payment method |
| Account closure | Not specified by Max |
| Reconnection fee | Not specified |
| Credit reporting | Mentions collection agencies, not credit bureaus[1] |
| Source checked | September 2026 |
How Max billing works
Max (the streaming service operated by Warner Bros. Discovery, formerly HBO Max) is a prepaid monthly or annual streaming subscription.
- Recurring auto-charge to your registered payment method
- No contracts; you can cancel any time and keep access through the end of the billing period you already paid for
- Subscribers via Apple, Google, or a cable partner (a "Third Party Provider") are billed through that third party, which handles suspension for unpaid amounts on its own subscriptions
Source: Max Terms of Use[1]
What happens when payment fails
- Payment fails: if your payment method "fails to cover the Subscription Fee, we may suspend your access to the Platform until you update your Payment Method and pay your Subscription Fee." Separately, if a payment is declined, "we or the Payment Service may attempt to charge the Payment Method multiple times to prevent your Subscription from lapsing". No retry count, schedule, or suspension day-count is published[1]
- Continued failure: access stays suspended until you update your payment method and pay the outstanding Subscription Fee
- Extended non-payment: you remain liable for the unpaid amount and "all costs incurred to collect" it, including "collection agency fees, reasonable attorney's fees and arbitration costs"
- Max's Terms of Use do not state a late-fee amount. They neither promise one is waived nor say what it would be
If you subscribe through a third-party billing partner (Apple App Store, Google Play, cable provider), the third party's billing rules apply.
Restoring service
Max's Terms of Use describe suspension for a failed payment as lasting "until you update your Payment Method and pay your Subscription Fee." The document does not describe a separate reconnection fee or a guaranteed restoration timeline.
Your profiles, watchlist, and continue-watching state are typically preserved, though this specific point is not addressed in the Terms of Use.
Credit reporting and collections
What Max says: Max's Terms of Use don't mention credit bureaus. They say you "will remain liable for all amounts and all costs incurred to collect any unpaid amounts, such as bank overdraft fees, collection agency fees, reasonable attorney's fees and arbitration costs."[1]
What federal law actually sets
Reporting to the credit bureaus is optional. The CFPB puts it plainly: "Reporting to credit bureaus and other consumer reporting agencies by creditors is voluntary and historically has been. Not all creditors report information about their borrowers."[2]: p. 15 The Fair Credit Reporting Act's rules for the companies that do report cover accuracy, disputes and dates. They don't set a minimum number of days late before an account can be reported.[3]: (a)
The "30 days late" figure you see everywhere comes from the data format, not from a law. Most furnishers send data to the bureaus in Metro 2, which reports "the level of delinquency such as 30-59 days past due, 60-89 days past due, and up to 180 days or more past due."[2]: pp. 3, 16 Experian's list of payment-status codes has no code for anything less than 30 days late: the late codes start at "Account 30 days past due date" and go up in 30-day steps to 180.[4] So a payment 10 or 20 days late has no late code to be reported under, though a late fee can still apply.
A third-party debt collector can't report a debt until it has either spoken to you about it in person or by phone, or mailed or electronically sent you a message about it and waited "a reasonable period of time to receive a notice of undeliverability."[5]: (a)(1)
Charge-off
A charge-off is the lender writing the balance off its books as a loss. It isn't the lender giving up: the federal bank policy that sets charge-off timing says the write-off "does not mean that the asset has absolutely no recovery or salvage value."[6] That policy also sets the timing, for banks and thrifts only: "Closed-end retail loans that become past due 120 cumulative days and open-end retail loans that become past due 180 cumulative days from the contractual due date should be classified loss and charged off." Closed-end means a loan with a fixed schedule, such as an installment loan; open-end means a revolving line, such as a credit card. Credit unions are outside it. Their regulator, the NCUA, "does not plan to adopt the Uniform Policy at this time."[7] It doesn't apply to phone, cable, streaming, insurance or utility companies either, because none of them is a bank. When one of those companies writes off a balance, the timing is its own.
How long it can stay on a report
For an account placed for collection or charged off, the Fair Credit Reporting Act's seven-year limit doesn't start on the day you fell behind. It starts 180 days later: the seven years begin "upon the expiration of the 180-day period beginning on the date of the commencement of the delinquency which immediately preceded the collection activity, charge to profit and loss, or similar action."[8]: (c)(1) That makes it about seven and a half years from the first missed payment. Paying the balance later doesn't restart or shorten that clock. Whoever reports a collection or charge-off must also tell the bureau "the month and year of the commencement of the delinquency", within 90 days of reporting it, and a collector who later reports the same account complies by reporting "the same date of delinquency as that provided by the creditor".[3]: (a)(5) A late payment that never goes to collection or charge-off falls under a separate catch-all, "any other adverse item of information", which also runs seven years but names no start date.[8]: (a)(5)
Direct reporting vs. collections
A company can report an account it still owns, or it can hand or sell the account to a collection agency, which then reports under its own name. The two can show up as separate items on your report for the same bill, and "consumers generally are not required to be notified when debt is sold or assigned to a collection agency."[2]: p. 30 Which of the two you're dealing with decides which rights apply. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act covers people collecting debts owed to someone else, and it excludes a creditor's own staff "while, in the name of the creditor, collecting debts for such creditor." A creditor that collects under a different name is covered, though: the law "includes any creditor who, in the process of collecting his own debts, uses any name other than his own which would indicate that a third person is collecting or attempting to collect such debts."[9]: (6)
If the account reaches collections
A debt collector must send you validation information (what you owe, to whom, and how to dispute it) in its first communication or "within five days of that initial communication".[10]: (a)(1) If you dispute the debt in writing within 30 days, the collector "shall cease collection of the debt, or any disputed portion thereof, until the debt collector obtains verification of the debt" and mails it to you.[11]: (b) Disputing the credit report itself is a separate process. A bureau that gets your dispute must, "free of charge, conduct a reasonable reinvestigation" within 30 days (up to 45 if you send more information during that time),[12]: (a)(1) and the company that reported the item must investigate and then modify, delete or block anything it finds inaccurate, incomplete or unverifiable.[3]: (b)
This section describes federal law and industry practice in general terms. It doesn't cover state law, which can add protections, and it isn't legal advice. It describes a company's own policy only where that company is quoted above. See the disclaimer.
Frequently asked questions
Does Max charge a late fee? Max's Terms of Use do not publish a late-fee amount. They do allow Max to retry your payment method after a failed charge and to pursue collection costs if you don't pay, including collection-agency and attorney's fees.
What happens if I'm a free Max subscriber through my cable or wireless provider? If you receive Max via a bundled offer (e.g., AT&T, some Cricket plans, certain Hulu bundles), your access depends on that partner's billing. Non-payment of the partner subscription removes your Max access.
Can I downgrade Max to a cheaper plan? Yes. Max offers an ad-supported tier at a lower price. You can downgrade through account settings; the change takes effect at the next billing cycle.
Source checked September 2026. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by Max, HBO, or Warner Bros. Discovery. See our disclaimer.
References
- ^ HBO Max: Terms of Use (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ CFPB: Key Dimensions and Processes in the U.S. Credit Reporting System (December 2012) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681s-2: Responsibilities of furnishers of information to consumer reporting agencies (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Experian: Glossary of Account Conditions and Payment Status, Version 7 (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 12 CFR 1006.30: Other prohibited practices (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ FFIEC: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (Federal Reserve) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 65 FR 36903: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (June 12, 2000) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681c: Requirements relating to information contained in consumer reports (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692a: Definitions (Fair Debt Collection Practices Act) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 12 CFR 1006.34: Notice for validation of debts (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692g: Validation of debts (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681i: Procedure in case of disputed accuracy (accessed 2026-09-24)