Quick summary
| Detail | Value |
|---|---|
| Grace period | None. Service is suspended if payment isn't in by 11:59 pm CT on the due date |
| Late fee | Not stated. Cricket's fee schedule lists a reactivation fee instead |
| Service suspension | Immediately if payment isn't in by the due date |
| Account termination | 60 days after the due date (canceled "On the 60th day"), and the number is re-assigned |
| Reconnection fee | $5 single line, $15 multi-line reactivation fee |
| Credit reporting | Its terms don't say[1] |
| Source checked | September 2026 |
How Cricket Wireless billing works
Cricket Wireless is a prepaid carrier owned by AT&T, using AT&T's network. You pay in advance: "The availability of Services depends upon your payment in advance of all Charges when they are due." Cricket doesn't mail a monthly bill ("we will not provide you with monthly bills"), but it does send SMS reminders of your account status, though it "cannot guarantee" you'll get them before your account is suspended.[1]: §1.9
You still have a due date. "Your payment is due on your due date, which is the same date each month", and "Payment is due by 11:59 pm Central Time on your due date". Your billing cycle starts on the day you activated, and the due date is the day before, so activating on the 14th puts your due date on the 13th.[2]
What happens when payment fails
- Due date passes unpaid: "If no payment is received by 11:59 pm Central Time on your due date, your service will be suspended."[2]
- While suspended: "You can't make or receive calls, texts, or use data." You can still call 611 and 911, and you can change your plan and remove features.[3]
- Days 1–59 after the due date: you can reactivate by paying, plus a reactivation fee. Cricket's terms say an account "deactivated for nonpayment … will be placed in suspend mode for 60 days".[1]: §1.9.3
- Day 60 after the due date: "The Reactivation Fee applies to suspended accounts that are reactivated within 59 days after the due date. On the 60th day, the account will be canceled and can't be reactivated."[4] Once the account is canceled, Cricket "will re-assign the phone number associated with your Account".[1]: §1.9.3
Cricket's Suspend & Restore page words the deadline differently: "Pay within 60 days of your last pay date to keep your number. Otherwise, your account will be canceled." It doesn't define "last pay date". The fee schedule and the terms both count from the due date, so this page does too. If you're close to the deadline, pay as early as you can rather than relying on the exact day.
Cricket's published fee schedule lists no late fee. What it lists for a missed due date is a reactivation fee: "If you miss your due date, your account will be suspended immediately. A Reactivation Fee will be charged before the account can be reactivated." That is not the same as Cricket saying it will never charge a late fee, so this page records the late fee as not stated rather than $0.
Source: Cricket Wireless's Charges and Fees page[4]
Reconnection
To restore service after a missed due date, Cricket says to "pay now with Quick Pay". "The day you pay is your new due date." Cricket charges a reactivation fee of $5 for a single-line account or $15 for a multi-line account.[3] In most states, paying in an authorized retail store, by phone with Customer Support, or through the automated phone system adds a $5 fee. Paying in the myCricket app, online, with Quick Pay or through Auto Pay doesn't.[4]
Once the account is canceled on the 60th day after the due date, it "can't be reactivated", and your phone number can be given to someone else.
Credit reporting
What Cricket Wireless says: Cricket's Terms and Conditions don't mention credit bureaus, credit reporting or collection agencies.[1]
What federal law actually sets
Reporting to the credit bureaus is optional. The CFPB puts it plainly: "Reporting to credit bureaus and other consumer reporting agencies by creditors is voluntary and historically has been. Not all creditors report information about their borrowers."[5]: p. 15 The Fair Credit Reporting Act's rules for the companies that do report cover accuracy, disputes and dates. They don't set a minimum number of days late before an account can be reported.[6]: (a)
The "30 days late" figure you see everywhere comes from the data format, not from a law. Most furnishers send data to the bureaus in Metro 2, which reports "the level of delinquency such as 30-59 days past due, 60-89 days past due, and up to 180 days or more past due."[5]: pp. 3, 16 Experian's list of payment-status codes has no code for anything less than 30 days late: the late codes start at "Account 30 days past due date" and go up in 30-day steps to 180.[7] So a payment 10 or 20 days late has no late code to be reported under, though a late fee can still apply.
A third-party debt collector can't report a debt until it has either spoken to you about it in person or by phone, or mailed or electronically sent you a message about it and waited "a reasonable period of time to receive a notice of undeliverability."[8]: (a)(1)
Charge-off
A charge-off is the lender writing the balance off its books as a loss. It isn't the lender giving up: the federal bank policy that sets charge-off timing says the write-off "does not mean that the asset has absolutely no recovery or salvage value."[9] That policy also sets the timing, for banks and thrifts only: "Closed-end retail loans that become past due 120 cumulative days and open-end retail loans that become past due 180 cumulative days from the contractual due date should be classified loss and charged off." Closed-end means a loan with a fixed schedule, such as an installment loan; open-end means a revolving line, such as a credit card. Credit unions are outside it. Their regulator, the NCUA, "does not plan to adopt the Uniform Policy at this time."[10] It doesn't apply to phone, cable, streaming, insurance or utility companies either, because none of them is a bank. When one of those companies writes off a balance, the timing is its own.
How long it can stay on a report
For an account placed for collection or charged off, the Fair Credit Reporting Act's seven-year limit doesn't start on the day you fell behind. It starts 180 days later: the seven years begin "upon the expiration of the 180-day period beginning on the date of the commencement of the delinquency which immediately preceded the collection activity, charge to profit and loss, or similar action."[11]: (c)(1) That makes it about seven and a half years from the first missed payment. Paying the balance later doesn't restart or shorten that clock. Whoever reports a collection or charge-off must also tell the bureau "the month and year of the commencement of the delinquency", within 90 days of reporting it, and a collector who later reports the same account complies by reporting "the same date of delinquency as that provided by the creditor".[6]: (a)(5) A late payment that never goes to collection or charge-off falls under a separate catch-all, "any other adverse item of information", which also runs seven years but names no start date.[11]: (a)(5)
Direct reporting vs. collections
A company can report an account it still owns, or it can hand or sell the account to a collection agency, which then reports under its own name. The two can show up as separate items on your report for the same bill, and "consumers generally are not required to be notified when debt is sold or assigned to a collection agency."[5]: p. 30 Which of the two you're dealing with decides which rights apply. The Fair Debt Collection Practices Act covers people collecting debts owed to someone else, and it excludes a creditor's own staff "while, in the name of the creditor, collecting debts for such creditor." A creditor that collects under a different name is covered, though: the law "includes any creditor who, in the process of collecting his own debts, uses any name other than his own which would indicate that a third person is collecting or attempting to collect such debts."[12]: (6)
If the account reaches collections
A debt collector must send you validation information (what you owe, to whom, and how to dispute it) in its first communication or "within five days of that initial communication".[13]: (a)(1) If you dispute the debt in writing within 30 days, the collector "shall cease collection of the debt, or any disputed portion thereof, until the debt collector obtains verification of the debt" and mails it to you.[14]: (b) Disputing the credit report itself is a separate process. A bureau that gets your dispute must, "free of charge, conduct a reasonable reinvestigation" within 30 days (up to 45 if you send more information during that time),[15]: (a)(1) and the company that reported the item must investigate and then modify, delete or block anything it finds inaccurate, incomplete or unverifiable.[6]: (b)
Phone, cable and utility accounts
Phone, pay-TV and utility companies can also share your account history with a separate reporting company, the National Consumer Telecom & Utilities Exchange (NCTUE). According to the CFPB, it "collects and shares information on new telecom and utility connect requests, paid-as-agreed and past-due account and payment histories including delinquencies and charge-offs." Equifax runs the database for its members, but "Equifax is not a member of the NCTUE," and you can ask the NCTUE for a free copy of your report every 12 months.[16] Whether a particular provider reports to the NCTUE, to the three big bureaus, to both or to neither is up to that provider.
This section describes federal law and industry practice in general terms. It doesn't cover state law, which can add protections, and it isn't legal advice. It describes a company's own policy only where that company is quoted above. See the disclaimer.
Frequently asked questions
Will I lose my Cricket phone number if I don't pay? Yes, if you don't pay within the deadline. Cricket cancels the account "On the 60th day" after the due date, and a canceled account's number is re-assigned. To keep your number, pay before then. Cricket's Suspend & Restore page counts the 60 days from your "last pay date" instead, so paying earlier is safer.
Does Cricket have a grace period? No. Cricket says: "If no payment is received by 11:59 pm Central Time on your due date, your service will be suspended."[2]
Can I switch to a cheaper Cricket plan if I can't afford my current one? Yes. Cricket allows plan changes between billing cycles. You can downgrade through the myCricket app to reduce your monthly cost rather than letting service lapse.
Source checked September 2026. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by Cricket Wireless or AT&T. See our disclaimer.
References
- ^ Cricket Wireless: Terms and Conditions (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Cricket Wireless: Payment Due Dates (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Cricket Wireless: Suspend & Restore Service (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Cricket Wireless: Charges and Fees (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ CFPB: Key Dimensions and Processes in the U.S. Credit Reporting System (December 2012) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681s-2: Responsibilities of furnishers of information to consumer reporting agencies (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ Experian: Glossary of Account Conditions and Payment Status, Version 7 (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 12 CFR 1006.30: Other prohibited practices (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ FFIEC: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (Federal Reserve) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 65 FR 36903: Uniform Retail Credit Classification and Account Management Policy (June 12, 2000) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681c: Requirements relating to information contained in consumer reports (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692a: Definitions (Fair Debt Collection Practices Act) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 12 CFR 1006.34: Notice for validation of debts (Regulation F) (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1692g: Validation of debts (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ 15 U.S.C. § 1681i: Procedure in case of disputed accuracy (accessed 2026-09-24)
- ^ CFPB: National Consumer Telecom & Utilities Exchange (NCTUE) (accessed 2026-09-24)